Teaching “Take It”

I posted this video of Bauer picking up some things for me on Facebook and had someone asking how I taught him. My eventual goal with Bauer is for him to pick up anything from any distance and bring it to me. He’s making good progress as he’s able to pick up some trickier items like my keys though it was definitely harder to teach that than the easier/lighter stuff like my wallet and checkbook.

I could explain how I taught this to Bauer but it would probably be convoluted and might not work for everyone’s dog so instead I found a few great Youtube videos teaching similar behaviors that should give everyone the basic idea!

One thought on “Teaching “Take It”

  1. Pingback: Train Your Dog Month: What Did We Learn? | How I Adopted Your Brother

Leave a Reply

