Monday Mischief: The Bad Cat

DSC_0787

Legolas is the best cat in the world.

He is also really… bad… and honestly, that is probably what makes him so appealing to someone who thought they would only have dogs all their life.

Legolas, or Lego as he is so fondly called, is the only cat I know who has had to be crate trained. There is simply no other way to eat a meal in peace. And by peace, I mean, without a cat climbing on your head and sticking his hand in your mouth and running away with a whole slice of pizza that was on your plate.

Speaking of pizza, I have never met a more food motivated cat. Most cats I have fostered could take it or leave it with food. Often I had to put effort into getting them to eat. Not so with Lego. Actually I have to put effort into him NOT eating things. And cat proofing a house is way more difficult than puppy proofing. Three legs or not, that cat can still climb anything!

Oh, and he can still murder mice. I’m undecided if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. Good, because I don’t want mice in my house. Bad, because I also don’t want dead mice in my bedroom at 3 in the morning.

He’s also kind of a jerk. He gets great pleasure out of perching on the laundry hamper, or the coffee table, and smacking the dogs on the head when they walk by. He also thinks it’s funny to run across the room, do a flying leap onto a dog’s back and then run away really fast. And he likes to chew on Garfy’s head, though that is pretty fair because Garfy likes to chew on the cat too. We’re working on it.

Lego also likes to tuck himself in under the covers, snuggle up next to my chest all night to sleep, groom the other dogs, climb up my front and perch on my shoulders and purr really really loudly. And sleep on my lap, even if my laptop is in the way. Seriously, this cat is the best thing ever. He makes us laugh every day and he’s a better cuddler than some of the dogs in this house. Mischievous he may be, but I wouldn’t have him any other way.

Monday-Mischief-Button-150x150-px

Today I am joining the Monday Mischief blog hop, hosted by Alfie’s Blog, Snoopy’s Dog Blog and My Brown Newfies.

5 thoughts on “Monday Mischief: The Bad Cat

  1. He’s like the cat version of Onyxx! Who is also an accomplished food thief. Life with Lego does not sound boring.
    I also have that same mice/rat dilemma. Our neighbor has rats and I found a dead one out in the common area. Mr. N would totally go after them but I also don’t want rats anywhere near me!

  2. Ha! Lego sounds like a kindred spirit to our black cat, Isaac! He’s okay to leave us alone during meal time (notsomuch during prep), but will get into anything left unattended, and is also a pro-mouser. Which, I agree, is good – no mice in the house. Unless he brings them in half alive and toys with them on the kitchen floor!

  3. He is a real looker. I had a cat who was a horrible food thief and you had to practically lie on you plate to keep him from getting it. He sounds like a wonderful member of the group!
    Marty’s Mom

Leave a Reply

