Monday Mischief: A Pretty New Face

My dogs are pretty used to the camera. At this point, if I pull the camera out, they pose and wait for their treat (I’m still working on getting them to do the same with my cell phone camera).

But when a new dog comes around, they aren’t always sure what to make of the big black clicky box so some mischief can arise.

With that said, meet Gemma.

DSC_0282

Gemma’s story is somewhat heartbreaking: she is young, beautiful and has a fantastic temperament. But she has hemangiosarcoma.

Even with tumor removal and chemo, the life span for a dog with this cancer is very short. Gemma’s tumor (at least the one we knew about – there could be more) was removed but that does not mean the cancer is gone, and we do not know how long it was there before she came to us.

Obviously a dog with this diagnosis is not exactly adoptable, but I couldn’t let her die in a shelter, so she’s come home with us to be spoiled for a while. She has settled in great and gets along well with everyone. She is doing pretty well for now and seems to be enjoying running around in the yard, playing with toys and snuggling in bed. She is just a darling girl and it hurts to think she won’t have a chance at a long life, but we’ll make the days she has left count!

DSC_0279
DSC_0303
DSC_0318
DSC_0336

Monday-Mischief-Button-150x150-px

Today I am joining the Monday Mischief blog hop, hosted by Alfie’s Blog, Snoopy’s Dog Blog and My Brown Newfies.

9 thoughts on “Monday Mischief: A Pretty New Face

  1. So heartbreaking. Gemma is such a beautiful girl; thank you for taking such good care of her in her last days. What a shame. I know that’s a cancer that is common to German shepherds, so I have seen its scary name several times before. Hoping her time with you is peaceful and joyful. Bless you for what you do!

  2. OMG! What a smile. What a sweet girl. I know how heartbreaking it is to have a dog with that diagnosis. If I even begin to tell my story, I won’t see the keyboard through the tears. I just want to reach out and hug you for bringing her home and then I want to cover Gemma with hugs and kisses and belly rubs. She deserves to be spoiled.

  3. Oh Gemma

    You’re such a gorgeous girl, I’m sending you big hugs! I’m so happy you’ve found a wonderful forever home! 🙂

    Wags to all,

    Your pal Snoopy 🙂

  4. Pingback: Monday Mischief: Happy Endings | How I Adopted Your Brother

Leave a Reply

